Fence permit rules by DFW city

Compiled by Steve Henderson · Verified · 26 cities

Fence rules are set by each city, not by the state, and they differ more than most homeowners expect. A 6 ft fence that needs no permit in Dallas needs one in Garland. Front-yard limits run from 2.5 ft to 5 ft depending on where you live and what you build it from.

Every figure below is taken from that city's own ordinance or permit documents and linked to the source. Where a city does not publish a figure, we say so rather than guess.

Confirm before you build. Ordinances change, and many cities have overlays — historic districts, planned developments, floodplain — with stricter rules than the citywide standard. Always confirm with the city before building. This page is a starting point for the conversation with your contractor and your city, not a substitute for it.

City Permit required? Front yard max Rear / side max Fee
Allen Not stated 8 ft in back and side yards. Not published
Arlington Yes — when more than 50% of the length of the fence is being constructed. Not stated 8 ft, measured from the highest adjacent grade within 10 ft of the fence. Not published
Burleson Yes — for a new fence or a replacement fence. A building permit application, two site plans with dimensions, and the scheduled fee are required. Not stated 8 ft for a privacy fence. Not published
Carrollton Yes — for any new fence over 20 ft in length, or relocating or repairing more than 20 ft of an existing fence. 36 in. 8 ft in any side yard or along a side yard lot line. Not published
Coppell Yes — a residential building permit under the fence work class. Not stated Not stated Not published
Dallas Yes — for a fence over 4 ft in a front yard, or over 6 ft anywhere else. 4 ft in the required front yard (single-family and duplex districts). 6 ft without a permit. Over 9 ft requires a permit and must be sealed by a licensed professional engineer. Not published
Euless Yes — for new fencing or any alteration other than simple replacement of existing panels. Not stated Not stated Not published
Flower Mound Yes — to repair or replace a fence, unless you are only replacing pickets of the same height and material. 4 ft within the front yard setback, and must be tubular steel. 8 ft (minimum 6 ft) under the town's perimeter fence standards. Not published
Fort Worth Yes — a building permit is required for a solid fence over 6 ft. Solid fences are not permitted in the required front yard of one- and two-family homes. Open-design fences up to 5 ft are allowed. The Board of Adjustment may grant an exception for a solid fence up to 4 ft. 8 ft behind the front building setback line. Not published
Frisco Yes for all fences, except repairing or replacing up to 2 sections or 16 ft. 4 ft in front of the main structure. 8 ft from grade on the rear and side yards of the main structure. Not published
Garland Yes — for corner lots, fences around pools, any change to height, location or materials, installing where no fence existed, and any front yard fence. 3.5 ft for wood or wrought iron; 2.5 ft for brick or masonry (excluding cinder block). 8 ft, measured from grade on the inside of the fence around the rear perimeter of the house. $88 residential ($70 plus an $18 processing fee)
Grand Prairie Yes — all residential fences and all replacements, including panel sections. 36 in. 8 ft from the front yard setback line and along the side and rear. $25 residential
Grapevine Yes — a fence permit is required. Not stated 8 ft. Not published
Irving Yes — a separate permit is required for fences. Not stated Not stated Not published
Keller Yes — for all new fences and for replacing 8 linear ft or more of an existing fence. There is no fee for a replacement fence. Not stated Not stated No fee for replacement fences
Lewisville Yes — for any new fence, or a replacement exceeding 10% of the total fence length. Not stated 8 ft, measured from finished grade. Not published
Mansfield Yes — before building a new or replacement wood privacy fence 5 ft or taller. Any fence over 6 ft needs a permit even for a repair of less than 50%. A fence 36 in or more above finished grade may be no more than 25% solid in the front yard. 8 ft for a residential privacy fence. Not published
McKinney A plans examiner determines whether a permit is required. 48 in, and the fence must be at least 50% open. Not stated Not published
Mesquite Yes — for any fence over 2 ft in height. 3.5 ft, and front yard fences must be 50% see-through (picket, ornamental iron, split rail or chain link). 8 ft. Not published
North Richland Hills Yes, unless you are replacing up to four 8 ft sections of a fence no taller than 8 ft. Four or more panels requires a building permit. Not stated Not stated Not published
Plano Yes — for every new fence, and for replacement fences. 40 in in the required front yard, and at least 50% open (not solid). 8 ft. Over 8 ft requires Board of Adjustment approval before a permit is issued. Not published
Prosper Yes — before installing alterations, additions or changes measuring more than 16 linear ft over a 12-month period. Not stated Not stated Not published
Richardson Yes — for any fence 2.5 ft in height or greater. 3 ft beyond the front wall of the house to the front property line, and it must be decorative. 8 ft from the rear property line to the front wall of the house. Not published
Rowlett Yes — including repairing a portion of, or replacing, an existing fence. Not stated Not stated Not published
Waxahachie Yes — a fence/wall permit application is required. Not stated Not stated Not published
Wylie Yes — for a new fence or a significant replacement of an existing fence. Not stated Not stated Not published

City by city

Permit required
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
8 ft in back and side yards.

Also worth knowing

  • Acceptable materials are brick, wood and wrought iron; metal posts, caps and hardware are required.
  • A fence or wall enclosing a pool or hot tub must be at least 4 ft high with self-latching, self-closing gates.
  • No obstruction within 3 ft of the side lot lines on lots with alleys, or within 3 ft of side and rear lot lines where there is no alley.

Who to ask: Community Development — Building and Code

Sources: Land Development Code Art. III — Building Regulations · Codes and Ordinances

Permit required
Yes — when more than 50% of the length of the fence is being constructed.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
8 ft, measured from the highest adjacent grade within 10 ft of the fence.

Also worth knowing

  • No fence over 2 ft on the side property line of a corner or reverse corner lot, and any fence over 2 ft must sit at least 5 ft back from that side line.
  • New chain link fences are not permitted. An existing chain link fence may be replaced with chain link or an approved material.

Who to ask: Code Compliance — (817) 459-6502

Sources: Residential Fences information bulletin · Single Family Rapid Reference Guide

Permit required
Yes — for a new fence or a replacement fence. A building permit application, two site plans with dimensions, and the scheduled fee are required.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
8 ft for a privacy fence.

Also worth knowing

  • Applications go to Building Permits and Inspections, 141 W Renfro Street.

Who to ask: Building Permits and Inspections — (817) 426-9632

Sources: Fences · Is a permit required for a fence?

Permit required
Yes — for any new fence over 20 ft in length, or relocating or repairing more than 20 ft of an existing fence.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
36 in.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft in any side yard or along a side yard lot line.

Also worth knowing

  • A site plan showing the proposed fence location is required.
  • An inspection is required on completion.

Who to ask: Building Inspection / Development Services

Sources: Fences · Code of Ordinances Ch. 154 — Fences

Permit required
Yes — for a fence over 4 ft in a front yard, or over 6 ft anywhere else.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
4 ft in the required front yard (single-family and duplex districts).
Rear / side maximum
6 ft without a permit. Over 9 ft requires a permit and must be sealed by a licensed professional engineer.

Also worth knowing

  • A fence cannot sit in an easement without written permission from the utility.
  • Must not obstruct visibility, fire lane access, hydrants or utility meters.
  • Planned Development, Historic and Conservation districts, and floodplain areas, may have their own rules.

Who to ask: Building Inspection, 320 E. Jefferson Blvd, Room 118 — (214) 948-4480

Sources: Fence permit / pool barrier checklist · Building Inspection FAQs

Permit required
Yes — for new fencing or any alteration other than simple replacement of existing panels.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Who to ask: Planning and Economic Development — Building Construction and Permitting

Sources: Building Construction and Permitting · Development Forms

Permit required
Yes — to repair or replace a fence, unless you are only replacing pickets of the same height and material.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
4 ft within the front yard setback, and must be tubular steel.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft (minimum 6 ft) under the town's perimeter fence standards.

Who to ask: Building Inspections — (972) 874-6355

Sources: Residential Permit Guidelines · Code of Ordinances Ch. 98 — Fence height and visibility

Permit required
Yes — a building permit is required for a solid fence over 6 ft.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Solid fences are not permitted in the required front yard of one- and two-family homes. Open-design fences up to 5 ft are allowed. The Board of Adjustment may grant an exception for a solid fence up to 4 ft.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft behind the front building setback line.

Also worth knowing

  • On a corner lot, no fence over 2 ft is allowed within the triangle formed by measuring 20 ft each way from the corner of the property line at the intersection.

Who to ask: Development Services — Residential Permitting

Sources: Zoning Ordinance § 5.305 Fences · Residential permitting

Permit required
Yes for all fences, except repairing or replacing up to 2 sections or 16 ft.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
4 ft in front of the main structure.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft from grade on the rear and side yards of the main structure.

Also worth knowing

  • Vision clip and access-and-maintenance (VAM) requirements must be observed.
  • No part of a fence may extend past a property line.

Who to ask: Building Inspections — (972) 292-5301

Sources: What do I need to install or repair a residential fence? · Fence ordinance 12-08-46

Permit required
Yes — for corner lots, fences around pools, any change to height, location or materials, installing where no fence existed, and any front yard fence.
Fee
$88 residential ($70 plus an $18 processing fee)
Front yard maximum
3.5 ft for wood or wrought iron; 2.5 ft for brick or masonry (excluding cinder block).
Rear / side maximum
8 ft, measured from grade on the inside of the fence around the rear perimeter of the house.

Also worth knowing

  • A corner lot fence that is not see-through requires a visibility clip.

Who to ask: Building Inspection Department

Sources: Fence · Fence requirements

Permit required
Yes — all residential fences and all replacements, including panel sections.
Fee
$25 residential
Front yard maximum
36 in.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft from the front yard setback line and along the side and rear.

Also worth knowing

  • On a side lot line not abutting a street, the fence may taper from 8 ft at the front building setback line down to 36 in at the front property line if solid, or 48 in if not.
  • Corner lots must comply with the street intersection clearance triangle.

Who to ask: Building Inspections Division

Sources: Residential Fence Restrictions & Plan Review Checklist · Residential Fence Permit

Permit required
Yes — a separate permit is required for fences.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Also worth knowing

  • Fence rules sit in Chapter 15 of the Land Development Code. Heights are not published in the city's public summary pages; call Inspections for the limit that applies to your lot.

Who to ask: Inspections — (972) 721-2371

Sources: Residential Contractors Checklist · Land Development Code Ch. 15 — Fences

Permit required
Yes — for all new fences and for replacing 8 linear ft or more of an existing fence. There is no fee for a replacement fence.
Fee
No fee for replacement fences
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Also worth knowing

  • A swimming pool fence must be at least 4 ft high.
  • Open-style fences, including front and side yards adjacent to a street, must sit at least 4 ft inside the property line, except where the front property line adjoins a bar ditch.

Who to ask: Community Development — Building Inspections

Sources: Fence Regulations · Do I Need a Permit?

Permit required
Yes — for any new fence, or a replacement exceeding 10% of the total fence length.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
8 ft, measured from finished grade.

Also worth knowing

  • A contractor doing the work must be registered with the City of Lewisville.
  • A property survey or a city-provided aerial showing the fence location must be submitted.

Who to ask: Building Inspections — (972) 219-3470, 151 W Church Street

Sources: Residential Ordinances · Code of Ordinances Ch. 17 — Zoning

Permit required
Yes — before building a new or replacement wood privacy fence 5 ft or taller. Any fence over 6 ft needs a permit even for a repair of less than 50%.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
A fence 36 in or more above finished grade may be no more than 25% solid in the front yard.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft for a residential privacy fence.

Also worth knowing

  • No fence over 36 in may sit less than 15 ft from a side property line adjacent to a public street, unless the lot backs onto the rear property line of another lot.
  • An 8 ft fence must have four horizontal stringers, with posts and stringers on the inside, not facing the street or neighbours.

Who to ask: Planning Department — (817) 276-4259

Sources: Zoning § 155.094 — General provisions for all fences · Wood Privacy Fence Construction Standards

Permit required
A plans examiner determines whether a permit is required.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
48 in, and the fence must be at least 50% open.
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Also worth knowing

  • In the Historic District: 6 ft 8 in maximum on rear and interior side yards, and 4 ft with 50% transparency on front and some side yards.
  • Barbed wire and electric fences are not allowed in most residential districts.
  • A fence enclosing a pool or spa is subject to pool barrier requirements and requires inspection.

Who to ask: City of McKinney — (469) 617-4800

Sources: Fence Permits

Permit required
Yes — for any fence over 2 ft in height.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
3.5 ft, and front yard fences must be 50% see-through (picket, ornamental iron, split rail or chain link).
Rear / side maximum
8 ft.

Also worth knowing

  • Inspections are required for all work that requires a permit.
Permit required
Yes, unless you are replacing up to four 8 ft sections of a fence no taller than 8 ft. Four or more panels requires a building permit.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Also worth knowing

  • A fence that is severely deteriorated or leaning 15 degrees or more must be repaired, replaced or removed.
  • Replacement panels, slats, rails, pickets and posts must be similar in size and appearance to what they replace.

Who to ask: Building Inspections & Permits — (817) 427-6300

Sources: Code of Ordinances Ch. 118 Art. VIII — Screening and Fencing Standards · Common Code Violations

Permit required
Yes — for every new fence, and for replacement fences.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
40 in in the required front yard, and at least 50% open (not solid).
Rear / side maximum
8 ft. Over 8 ft requires Board of Adjustment approval before a permit is issued.

Also worth knowing

  • Corner lot fences must comply with sight visibility clips.
  • A fence enclosing a pool or spa is subject to additional requirements.
  • A footing inspection (where applicable) and a final fence inspection are required.

Who to ask: Building Inspections, Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue

Sources: Residential Fence Permit — Requirements · Outdoor Improvements permits

Prosper

Permit required
Yes — before installing alterations, additions or changes measuring more than 16 linear ft over a 12-month period.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Who to ask: Building Inspections — (972) 346-3502, permits@prospertx.gov

Sources: When is a fence permit required? · Fence / Retaining Wall / Screening Wall

Richardson

Permit required
Yes — for any fence 2.5 ft in height or greater.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
3 ft beyond the front wall of the house to the front property line, and it must be decorative.
Rear / side maximum
8 ft from the rear property line to the front wall of the house.

Also worth knowing

  • Permitted materials are wood, vinyl, masonry, wrought iron or chain link.
  • Height is measured vertically from the inside natural or mean grade elevation of the yard.
  • The permit must be approved and posted at the property before work starts.

Who to ask: Building Inspection — (972) 744-4174

Sources: Fence Construction · Code of Ordinances Ch. 6 Art. IV — Fences

Rowlett

Permit required
Yes — including repairing a portion of, or replacing, an existing fence.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Also worth knowing

  • Fence rules are in Chapter 78, § 78-311 et seq. of the Code of Ordinances.

Who to ask: Building Safety Department

Sources: Code of Ordinances Ch. 78 Art. X — Fences · Reports and Permits

Permit required
Yes — a fence/wall permit application is required.
Fee
Not published in the source documents
Front yard maximum
Not stated in the source documents
Rear / side maximum
Not stated in the source documents

Who to ask: Building and Community Services — (469) 309-4020

Sources: Permitting / Applications · Code Enforcement

Why some cells say "Not stated"

Cities publish their rules in different depths. Arlington's residential fence bulletin sets an overall 8 ft maximum and detailed corner-lot rules but gives no separate front-yard figure; McKinney leaves the permit decision to a plans examiner rather than a fixed height trigger. Rather than borrow a plausible number from a neighbouring city, we leave it blank and point you at the department that can answer it.

Missing a city you need? Email hello@dfwoutdoorpros.com and we will research and add it. Building a pool? See our pool barrier rules, which are a separate life-safety code.